Fiction

Who the hell are these people who ‘don’t read fiction’. Like fiction has no value; like there aren’t lessons to be learned just because the events didn’t happen.

People sometimes, man. Open your fucking eyes. Open your hearts. You can learn a lot about yourself in fiction. Fiction teaches us without telling us that which we can and can never be. I love it.

Just thought I’d let you know.

20 Responses to “Fiction”

  1. I’m with you. I love the old Lit Professor quote:

    “For it to be good fiction, it need not necessarily have happened, but it must be true.”

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

  2. kmichelle14 Says:

    I completely agree – I write strictly fiction and you know, I find truths about my own life and the people around me coming out in my “fiction.” !!

    -K
    kristinmichelle14.wordpress.com

  3. Fiction? Ice cream? the sixties? Man, can I not do without. Well put.

  4. I put fiction in the search and came up with your blog. I was thinking about this today and trying to put into context what life would be like without music, art, story telling and it was a very, very grey world. Telling stories is as old as time and it was lovely to see someone spouting off passionately about it. Cheers!

  5. Good fiction makes me palpably feel in my body what is emotionally true.
    That goes for good fiction, film, art, music, dance, any form of cultural expression. We humans are mad to make and discover meaning, and we cannot live without stories. Thanks for your love of fiction!

  6. aimemoimoins Says:

    I am so impossibly with you on this one. I know everyone has their tastes- but it makes my blood boil when I hear that. And lately, I’ve heard it often.

  7. soo true.

    Love fiction? I hope you visit my site and let your voice be heard!

    pyrokineticsynesthete.weebly.com

  8. opheliajasmin Says:

    They’re really missing out. I feel sorry for them!

  9. Yeah, to those who don’t like fictiion, I say ‘how rude’! Do you know what you are missing? I do believe that readers of fiction tend to be more empathetic, compassionate and intuitive on the whole!
    My fav quote about fiction is:
    Fiction reveals truth that reality obscures.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson

    Del
    http://www.fictionbyme.wordpress.com

  10. I completely agree, to me it’s the best kept secret. For those that don’t “read fiction”, you are missing out on a lot. I’ve always loved a good story, especially where there is a message, no matter how small. I’m with you!

  11. I actually had this exact conversation with my cousin one time. It was maddening.

    But something my professor says a lot about writing and reading is that people read fiction because they think the author might know something about the world that they don’t know. And writing is about putting forth some perspective that can help people feel like they are able to see the truth of existence a little better.

  12. Weird enough, I actually had this exact conversation with my cousin one time. It was maddening.

    But something my professor says a lot about writing and reading is that people read fiction because they think the author might know something about the world that they don’t know. And writing is about putting forth some perspective that can help people feel like they are able to see the truth of existence a little better.

  13. Interesting you should post this…I was actually just talking with a woman at the library who was rudely inquiring about the ‘nonsense’ I was taking out. I don’t know how people can not like fiction. I mean there’s so much out there-there has to be something for everyone. If I didn’t write, my mind would be a pretty empty place.

  14. Well said.

  15. For fun, read this crazy story about an alcoholic relative who comes to town and wants to move in. You decide the fate of the story at http://shouldthestorycontinue.wordpress.com.

  16. i think i’m in love with you. lool.

  17. […] have always been passionate about fiction. Even though it’s not “real”, fiction still teaches you about yourself. It evokes emotion and can awaken part of your soul. Fiction, in […]

  18. I totally get what you’ re saying. It not only opens new worlds for us but it also reveals facets of our personalities. Many times it happens when I read something I would see that not only I would take the same course of action as the hero but also that that action was a part of myself. If you are following me ? 😀

  19. Dude I totally agree with you. There is nothing else more I can say to this. I find more truth in fiction than I sometimes do in real life oddly enough. Check out some of my writing (I’m new and not very good-but nonetheless!) and I think you will see my point.

Leave a Reply

